The research project

“Interactive metaheuristics for optimization-based decision support systems” is a project funded by the DFG (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft) under grant ME 4045/2-1. The project started in June 2013 for an initial period of two years. The objective of this project is to develop efficient and practical models, algorithms and software tools for the design of interactive heuristic optimisation methods for decision support systems. The project is conducted at the Institute of Computer Science of the University of Osnabrück. The principal investigator is Dr. David Meignan (University of Osnabrück, Germany) but the work is done in collaboration with Pr. Sigrid Knust, Pr. Joachim Hertzberg, and Dr. Florian Bruns (University of Osnabrück, Germany), Pr. Jean-Marc Frayret, and Pr. Gilles Pesant (Polytechnique Montréal, Canada), Pr. Abderrafiâa Koukam, and Pr. Vincent Hilaire (University of Technology of Belfort-Montbéliard, France).

Project funded by: Host institute:
dfg_logo Logo_UOS

 Latest news

MIC15_logoThe paper “An Experimental Investigation of Reoptimization for Shift Scheduling” (Author: David Meignan) has been accepted as a full paper at the Metaheuristics International Conference 2015 (MIC’15). The paper presents the results of an experiment on interactive reoptimization. Read the paper’s abstract…
Cédric Boittin, daad_logo_smallPhD student at the UTBM (University of Technology of Belfort-Montbéliard), France, received a fellowship from the DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austaush Dienst) for a three months research stay at the University of Osnabrück, Germany. He will work on the topic of interactive optimization for simulation calibration, under the supervision of Dr. David Meignan, from February to April 2015. Fellowship program: DAAD Research grants – Short-term grants / DAAD Forschungsstipendien – Kurzstipendien.
sigevo_logoThe next GECCO conference will take place at Madrid, Spain, from July 11th to 15th, 2015. The deadline for submitting a paper is February 4, 2015. More information on the website of the conference: